Public Enemy Re-Releases 'Apocalypse '91' With 13 Bonus Tracks For 30th Anniversary

By Kiani Belgrave

The revolutionary hip-hop group Public Enemy released their fourth studio album, Apocalypse ‘91... The Enemy Strikes Black, in 1991. The project features all-time classics such as “Can’t Truss It” and “By The Time I Get To Arizona,” both records were met with controversy for their politically charged lyrics and music videos. 

Thirty years later, Chuck D, Flavor Flav, The Bomb Squad, and The Imperial Grand Ministers of Funk have re-released the iconic body of work with 13 bonus tracks for its 30th anniversary. This new version of the platinum-selling album dropped earlier this month and is currently available for streaming on all digital platforms. 

The project is Public Enemy’s most commercially successful album to date, peaking at No. 9 on the Hot Soul Singles chart and earning their first-ever Grammy nomination.

The 13 bonus tracks on Apocalypse 91… The Enemy Strikes Black (Deluxe Edition) features eight songs making their debut on streaming platforms, including “Can’t Truss It (Goree Island Conga Radio Mix), “More News At 11 (Extended Gary G-Wiz Mega Bomb)” and remixes of “Nighttrain” by Pete Rock.

Be sure to check out the 30th-anniversary edition of Apocalypse ‘91: The Enemy Strikes Black on all streaming platforms now.